This Is Savvy
Stay Bothered
"Transing" Female Characters
6
Preview
0:00
-0:59

"Transing" Female Characters

Dear Hollywood, I just want to be entertained...
6

I can’t control one’s self-perception. People are free to call themselves whatever they want or identify however they choose. Your self-perception is none of my business until you make it my business. When you try to shift my perceptions to make yours, we have a problem. Is that what Hollywood is trying to do? Twice this year, Hollywood productions have cast males in female roles with the expectation we the audience will simply accept them as female. I want to be entertained, not pushed into a moral or politically correct corner. I’m at a loss, so I want to talk about it.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to This Is Savvy to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

This Is Savvy
Stay Bothered
Hot topics, hot takes, hot opinions. Let's have the conversations no one wants to have. Upgrade for Exclusive Access!