This Is Savvy
Stay Bothered
SNEAK PEAK! The MacGuffin: Psycho
Preview
0:00
-2:00

SNEAK PEAK! The MacGuffin: Psycho

Get 75% off for 1 year

I can recall the first time I watched a Hitchcock film (Vertigo in 2004) and I remember the second Hitchcock film I watched (Frenzy in 2006), but I don’t remember the first time I saw Psycho. I got my first Netflix account in 2010 and I know this movie was in my DVD queue, but I’m almost positive I saw it sometime before then.

I’m often asked about my favorite movies and this classic is definitely in the top 5. I can watch this over and over and never get bored, and at this point, I’m sure I can recite it word for word from memory. While it’s well-acted and beautifully shot with great sound mixing and film editing, I love the structure. I love how this story starts one way and then shifts into something else, how we’re following Marion on an ill-conceived journey only to be abandoned halfway through. Psycho is as beautiful as it is disturbing, but it’s timeless and one of my absolute favorites.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to This Is Savvy to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

This Is Savvy
Stay Bothered
Hot topics, hot takes, hot opinions. Let's have the conversations no one wants to have. Upgrade for Exclusive Access!